Category: DEFAULT

2 Oct, 2012

Hells Bells - Bruford - The Bruford Tapes (Vinyl, LP, Album)

Monday 11 May Tuesday 12 May Wednesday 13 May Thursday 14 May Friday 15 May Saturday 16 May Sunday 17 May Monday 18 May Tuesday 19 May Wednesday 20 May Thursday 21 May Friday 22 May Saturday 23 May Sunday 24 May Monday 25 May Tuesday 26 May Wednesday 27 May Thursday 28 May Friday 29 May Saturday 30 May Sunday 31 May Monday 1 June Tuesday 2 June Thursday 4 June Friday 5 June Saturday 6 June Sunday 7 June Monday 8 June Tuesday 9 June Monday 15 June Tuesday 16 June Wednesday 17 June Friday 19 June Saturday 20 June Sunday 21 June Too bad!

So, what can I say about this CD? Musically, I'm very happy with the almost flawless performance of Bruford, Stewart, Berlin and Clark. They are successful in bringing the studio tracks into more lively nuances.

However, the "fading out" technology has erupted my respect, overall, to this live recording. For a great fan of Bruford's previous studio albums, it's a big regret. It's not professional at all to cut the songs it happens two times in this live record. I hate it! If all songs are presented in full, I would rate this live recording with four stars; but with this condition I would only give three stars maximum.

As for the readers, be careful if you consider buying this CD. If you have no issue at all with "cutting off" song, then it's OK. On recording quality, it's OK but it would be better is some more bass sound is added. Keep on Progging! Progressively Yours, GW - Indonesia. Come over to my country and do your gigs down here.. All the members of the band are very good, of course, but Bruford, and more particularly bassist Jeff Berlin do amazing things with their instruments in this album.

Dave Stewart also shows creativity playing those "old" synths from the late seventies. The cover design of this album looks more like a cover design for a "bootleg" than for an official live album, IMO. Despite being a very good band, this band was going to split after recording another studio album, called "Gradually Going Tornado".

In his official website, Bill Bruford described this in the "Timeline" section, saying that his then management company E. There are two main problems with this release that could probably have been distinguished from my introduction.

The sound of the radio broadcast of the late '70s leaves a lot to be desired of. I don't have a problem of distinguishing the individual performances but everyone who wants to hear a well recorded performance by this band is bound to find this recording lacking in the sound department.

The second flaw is much less substantial and concerns the inclusion of John Clark who does an excellent job of handling Holdsworth's duties but I think that it would have been nice to have a live recording where Allan Holdsworth had performed his guitar parts.

The encore number is Five G , here shortened to 5G , and it once again manages to do a great job although the sound quality does lower the performance down a notch for me. Overall The Bruford Tapes serves as a nice companion to the first two Bruford albums. Still I can only recommend this recording to people who are already familiar with these compositions.

Clark also played on The Bruford Tapes. Bruford's later outings would be released unde… read more. Bruford was the group name used for drummer Bill Bruford 's first few solo albums. For Feels Good to Me the band was… read more. Similar Artists Play all. Trending Tracks 1. Features Exploring the local sounds and scenes at Noise Pop Fest. Albums of the latest and loved, and the ones to look out for discover By okspud1 15 Feb am.

Monday 30 March Tuesday 31 March Wednesday 1 April Thursday 2 April Friday 3 April Saturday 4 April Sunday 5 April Monday 6 April Tuesday 7 April Wednesday 8 April Thursday 9 April Friday 10 April Saturday 11 April Sunday 12 April Monday 13 April Tuesday 14 April Wednesday 15 April Friday 17 April Saturday 18 April Sunday 19 April Monday 20 April Tuesday 21 April Wednesday 22 April Thursday 23 April Friday 24 April Saturday 25 April Sunday 26 April We buy items as close to Mint condition as possible and many will be unplayed and as close to new as you could hope to find.

Bill Bruford click here for complete listing. Regardless of country of origin all tracks are sung in English, unless otherwise stated in our description. Additional info:.

COM Ref No. All 14 tracks explore the many sides of Bruford's repertoire, delving into jazz fusion, straightforward rock, and progressive rock, and laying out some entertaining examples of how much fire the drums can truly muster, not only in their bombastic state, but also as an accompaniment to other instruments and rhythms as well.

Taking tracks from Feels Good to Me, One of a Kind, and Gradually Going Tornado, this collection stands as one of the best offerings of his solo work; from the attitude-laden "Hells Bells" to the steady flow of "Travels With Myself and Someone Else" to the imaginative "Fainting in Coils," every aspect of Bruford's percussive talents are covered. Presenting twice as many tracks as The Bruford Tapes, Master Strokes: makes for the best one-stop for those who want to hear Bruford playing to his own ideas, tempos, and genres.

In , the readers of Modern Drummer voted him into that magazine's Hall of Fame. From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. Not to be confused with Bill Buford. Progressive rock instrumental rock jazz jazz fusion. Drummer percussionist songwriter producer record label owner musicologist. Polydor E. Voiceprint Winterfold Summerfold. Retrieved 8 October Rolling Stone. Retrieved 7 October Retrieved 20 December All About Jazz. Archived from the original on 5 April Retrieved 5 April Archived from the original on 15 July Retrieved 3 November Archived from the original on 13 December Beat Instrumental : 6—7.

Retrieved 29 November Chicago: Strawberry Bricks. Melody Maker. Retrieved 3 November — via Rock's Backpages. Archived from the original on 18 February New Musical Express. Wall Street Journal. Official Bill Bruford Website.

Bill Bruford is a versatile drummer whose sound has influenced countless other players in a variety of genres. From his tenures with Yes, Genesis and King Crimson in progressive rock to recordings with his bands Bruford and Bill Bruford's Earthworks in jazz, his precision and imagination are distinctive. He has also experimented widely with new technologies for percussion playing. 3/18/

About : Gukasa

9 thoughts on “Hells Bells - Bruford - The Bruford Tapes (Vinyl, LP, Album)”

  1. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Vinyl release of The Bruford Tapes on Discogs. Label: Editions EG - EGS • Format: Vinyl LP, Album • Country: US • Genre: Jazz • Style: Jazz-Rock/5(54).
  2. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Vinyl release of The Bruford Tapes on Discogs. Label: Jem Records, Inc. - BRUBOOT 28 • Format: Vinyl LP, Album, Promo • Country: US • Genre: Jazz • Style: Jazz-Rock/5(2).
  3. I have this Lp for many years. I don't like the sound of any of his CDs made with the quartet (Bruford, Stewart, Brelin/Holdsworth or Clark) and the remastered CDs are even worse. In all of them or the sound was too processed or is stuffy, but even if I decided to buy this version of The Bruford Tapes. For my surprise it is a CDR!/5(25).
  4. the bruford tapes LP VINTAGE VINYL RECORD Product details. Vinyl; Label: POLYDOR; so the keyboard at the beginning of "Hells Bells" is a bit too distorted and high in the mix - by mid tune, it's been corrected, and otherwise, this is prog-fusion at it's very finest. /5(25).
  5. BILL BRUFORD The Bruford Tapes (Fully autographed Canadian 9-track LP, also starring Dave Stewart, Jeff Berlin & the 'unknown' John Clark on guitar, who plays so fluidly in the Holdsworth style that some fans thought it was Allan!vinyl is in excellent condition. However this copy is very special, this has been fully signed on the back in blue pen by Bill Bruford [as Billy], Dave Stewart, Jeff Berlin and .
  6. The Bruford Tapes, an Album by Bruford. Released in on Polydor (catalog no. BRUBOOT 28; Vinyl LP). Genres: Jazz Fusion, Jazz-Rock, Progressive Rock. Featured peformers: Bill Bruford (drums, percussion), Jeff Berlin (electric bass), John Clark (electric guitar), Dave Stewart (keyboards).
  7. The "special material" handed over to me was a CD, titled "The Bruford Tapes" (EG Records pressing). This rare CD is actually the live album of Bruford band's "Feels Good to Me" and "One of A Kind", broadcasted live from "My Father's Place", Roslyn, New York on WLIR (FM), in summer It was recorded on a two-track equipment/5(13).
  8. Let’s pick apart the catchy hook from the song Hell’s Bells off the release One of a Kind by the fusion/rock band, Bruford. (NOTE: It is not a cover of the AC/DC song with the same name I think?) It features Allan Holdsworth on guitar, Jeff Berlin on bass, Dave Stewart on keyboards, and Bill Bruford .
  9. Bruford: One Of A Kind is a music studio album recording by BILL BRUFORD (Jazz Rock/Fusion/Progressive Rock) released in on cd, lp / vinyl and/or cassette/5(41).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *