Category: DEFAULT

2 Oct, 2012

Where Did You Sleep Last Night

Wednesday 13 May Thursday 14 May Friday 15 May Saturday 16 May Sunday 17 May Monday 18 May Tuesday 19 May Wednesday 20 May Thursday 21 May Friday 22 May Saturday 23 May Sunday 24 May Monday 25 May Tuesday 26 May Wednesday 27 May Thursday 28 May Friday 29 May Saturday 30 May Sunday 31 May Monday 1 June Tuesday 2 June Thursday 4 June Friday 5 June Saturday 6 June Sunday 7 June Monday 8 June Tuesday 9 June Monday 15 June Tuesday 16 June Wednesday 17 June Friday 19 June Saturday 20 June Sunday 21 June Monday 22 June Tuesday 23 June Wednesday 24 June Thursday 25 June Friday 26 June Saturday 27 June Sunday 28 June Monday 29 June Tuesday 30 June Wednesday 1 July Thursday 2 July Friday 3 July Saturday 4 July Sunday 5 July Monday 6 July Tuesday 7 July Wednesday 8 July Thursday 9 July Friday 10 July Versions of the song have been recorded by many artists in numerous genres, but it is most often associated with American bluegrass musician Bill Monroe and American blues musician Lead Belly , both of whom recorded very different versions of the song in the s and s.

A version of the song performed by the Four Pennies reached the UK top-twenty in Like numerous other folk songs, "In the Pines" was passed on from one generation and locale to the next by word of mouth. In , a version of the song was recorded onto phonograph cylinder by a folk collector.

This was the first documentation of "The Longest Train" variant of the song, which includes a verse about "The longest train I ever saw". This verse probably began as a separate song that later merged into "In the Pines". Brown , a former Governor of Georgia , who famously leased convicts to operate coal mines in the s. While early renditions which mention the head in the " driver's wheel " make clear that the decapitation was caused by the train, some later versions would omit the reference to the train and reattribute the cause.

As music historian Norm Cohen pointed out in his book, Long Steel Rail: The Railroad in American Folksong , the song came to consist of three frequent elements: a chorus about "in the pines", a verse about "the longest train" and a verse about a decapitation, but not all elements are present in all versions. Starting in , commercial recordings of the song were made by various country artists. In her Ph. The train is described as killing a loved one, as taking one's beloved away, or as leaving an itinerant worker far from home.

The folk version by the Kossoy Sisters asks, "Little girl, little girl, where'd you stay last night? Not even your mother knows. One variant, performed in the early twentieth century by the Ellison clan Ora Ellison, deceased in Lookout Mountain , Georgia, tells of a young Georgia girl who flees to the pines after being raped.

Her rapist, a male soldier, is later beheaded by the train. Some versions of the song also reference the Great Depression , with the "black girl" being a hobo on the move from the police, who witnesses the murder of her father while train-jumping. Although Lead Belly most commonly played the twelve-string, he could also play the piano, mandolin, harmonica, violin, and accordion.

In some of his recordings, such as in one of his versions of the folk ballad "John Hardy", he performs on the accordion instead of the guitar. In other recordings he just sings while clappin… read more. Huddie Ledbetter January 20, - December 6, was an iconic American folk and blues musician, and multi-instrumentalist, notable for his strong vocals, his virtuosity on the twelve… read more.

Huddie Ledbetter January 20, - December 6, was an iconic American folk and blues musician, and multi-instrumentalist, notable for his strong vocals, his virtuosity on the twelve-string guitar, and the songbook of folk stand… read more. Similar Artists Play all. Trending Tracks 1. Features Exploring the local sounds and scenes at Noise Pop Fest.

Albums of the latest and loved, and the ones to look out for discover By okspud1 15 Feb am. Monday 30 March Tuesday 31 March Wednesday 1 April Thursday 2 April Friday 3 April Saturday 4 April Sunday 5 April Monday 6 April Tuesday 7 April Wednesday 8 April Thursday 9 April Friday 10 April Saturday 11 April Sunday 12 April Monday 13 April Tuesday 14 April Wednesday 15 April Friday 17 April Saturday 18 April Sunday 19 April Monday 20 April Tuesday 21 April Wednesday 22 April Thursday 23 April Friday 24 April Saturday 25 April Sunday 26 April Monday 27 April Tuesday 28 April Wednesday 29 April Thursday 30 April Friday 1 May Saturday 2 May Sunday 3 May Monday 4 May Tuesday 5 May Wednesday 6 May Thursday 7 May Friday 8 May Saturday 9 May Sunday 10 May Monday 11 May Tuesday 12 May From The Album Play album.

My girl, my girl Don't lie to me Tell me where did you sleep last night In the pines, in the pines Where the sun don't ever shine I would shiver… View full lyrics.

Play track. Artist images more. Nirvana 4,, listeners Related Tags grunge rock alternative There are multiple artists tracked as "Nirvana" on Last. Following are six, listed in order of prominence: 1 Nirvana was a popular and highly influential American grunge band. The band formed in Aberdeen, Washington in , and it was part of the Seattle grunge scene of the late 80s, alongside bands like Pearl Jam , Alice in Chains and Soundgarden.

As their popularity rose, alternative rock became a dominant genre on American and Canadian radio and music television during the early-to-mid '90s. In late , Cobain and Novoselic recruited drummer Aaron Burckhard … read more. There are multiple artists tracked as "Nirvana" on Last. The band formed in Aberdeen, Washington in 19… read more. Similar Artists Play all. Trending Tracks 1. Exploring the local sounds and scenes at Noise Pop Fest. Albums of the latest and loved, and the ones to look out for discover By okspud1 15 Feb am.

Monday 30 March Tuesday 31 March Wednesday 1 April Thursday 2 April Friday 3 April Saturday 4 April Sunday 5 April Monday 6 April Tuesday 7 April Wednesday 8 April Thursday 9 April Friday 10 April Saturday 11 April Sunday 12 April Monday 13 April Tuesday 14 April Wednesday 15 April Friday 17 April Saturday 18 April Sunday 19 April Monday 20 April Tuesday 21 April Wednesday 22 April Thursday 23 April Friday 24 April Saturday 25 April Sunday 26 April Monday 27 April Tuesday 28 April Wednesday 29 April Thursday 30 April Friday 1 May Saturday 2 May Sunday 3 May Monday 4 May Tuesday 5 May Wednesday 6 May Thursday 7 May

"In the Pines", also known as "Black Girl" and "Where Did You Sleep Last Night?", is a traditional American folk song which dates back to at least the s, and is believed to be Southern Appalachian in origin. The identity of the song's author is unknown, but it has been recorded by dozens of artists in numerous genres.

About : Mojinn

9 thoughts on “Where Did You Sleep Last Night”

  1. As the closing track of Nirvana’s Unplugged in New York album and televised concert, it was the last song on the last album Cobain recorded before his death. "Where Did You Sleep Last Night.
  2. rows · "In the Pines", also known as "Black Girl" and "Where Did You Sleep Last Night?", is a .
  3. Where Did You Sleep Last Night Lyrics: My girl, my girl, don't lie to me / Tell me, where did you sleep last night? / (Come on and tell me baby) / In the pines, in the pines where the sun don't.
  4. [Intro] Em G D C G D Em [Verse 1] Em G D C My girl, my girl, don't lie to me G D Em Tell me where did you sleep last night Em G D C In the pines, in the pines where the sun don't ever shine.
  5. "Where Did You Sleep Last Night?" was also one of the few songs Cobain played in public with his wife, Courtney Love. They performed it on September 8, at Club Lingerie in Los Angeles. >> The first rock era cover to make an impact was by The Four Pennies under the title "Black Girl.".
  6. Kurt Cobain got to know about "Where Did You Sleep Last Night?" from his friend and musician Mark Lanegan, for whom he played guitar on the album "The Winding Sheet" (). Nirvana performed this song in early s from time to time.
  7. The only surviving Asch masters of Lead Belly are now part of Smithsonian Folkways Recordings. For the first time in almost 50 years these original acetates have been carefully remastered and newly annotated. 34 tracks, including Irene, Where Did You Sleep Last Night, In the Evening When the Sun Goes Down, and Rock Island Line/5(23).
  8. May 23,  · Where Did You Sleep Last Night Acoustic chords by Nirvana. 3,, views, added to favorites 50, times. Tuning: Eb Ab Db Gb Bb Eb. Key: E. Author dmcphedran [a] 8 contributors total, last edit on May 23, View official tab.
  9. Amazing version of the Lead Belly song. The best cover, in my honest opinion, very dark and meaningful. I don't own any rights to this music.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *